Wednesday, 14 November 2018

Bella and Monty by Alex T. Smith, reviewed by Kelly McKain



With the nights drawing in, I've decided to return to an old family favourite for this blog, and share some fabulous vintage Alex T. Smith with you. If you can call a book published in 2009 vintage, of course! My daughter was born that year, and this book has been with us since a couple of years later, and has been thoroughly enjoyed by me and both my children (the second, her brother, coming along when it was a little more sticky, bent and painted on!).

You'll know Alex T. Smith as the brilliant author/illustrator of the Claude books, of course, which have been made into the fabulous Claude animation series by Sixteen South for Disney Junior, launched this year. Alex T. Smith's imagination can therefore be said to have led Simon Callow CBE to say, of his first ever role as a sock: "He's very well-written and the concept of the stories is very original. The characters are so vivid, funny and unexpected." So, that's some imagination!

This lovely imagination has also brought us the vivid, funny and unexpected characters of Bella and Monty. Bella Bones and Monty Mittens are best friends. They both like the colour orange. They both like slurping spaghetti. They both have the same size feet. But... unlike brave pooch Bella, Monty the cat is afraid of the dark. When it comes to lights out, he's quivering in his sleeping bag at their sleepover, and Bella, wanting to help, takes him, and all of us, on a journey through the dark night...

Being a true best friend, she shines a spotlight on Monty's fears - of the dark, of strange noises in the night, and of spiders - and calms them all with her inventive solutions and explanations. They can safely put the sun to bed because the moon is shining, looking out for them, and lighting up the dark night. The ghostly noises in the night are just Ghoul School students, doing their homework. Once Bella and Monty have joined in with a class (and Monty has helped glue a zombie's ear back on) the noises are no longer scary. And as for spiders - they're only scuttling around with their Chinese takeaways!

So Monty (and perhaps any readers less than in love with night time) is far happier to snuggle down in bed... after he's played a little trick on Bella, though, who turns out to be scared of something herself!


Bella and Monty: A Hairy, Scary Night by Alex T. Smith is published by Hodder Children's Books





Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE

Saturday, 10 November 2018

Karma Khullar’s Mustache by Kristi Wientge, review by Lynda Waterhouse


I discovered this novel whilst browsing in a bookshop. I hadn’t heard of the author or read any reviews but I was instantly drawn to the book as I too had experience of being the girl with the moustache at school, just like Karma Khullar in this warm and funny story.
The story is set in the USA and Karma Khuller is 12 and about to start middle school when those seventeen pesky hairs start sprouting. To make matters worse her beloved dadima has died. Her father has lost his job and is now staying at home whilst her mother has taken on a demanding job and is working long hours. Her older brother Kiran is being allowed to develop his musical talents.  Her best friend Sara is captivated by new neighbour Lacy who appears fashionable, popular and sophisticated. Sara has no time to support Karma when she need her most.
The novel is written in a warm lively first person narrative that moves from humour to pathos and back again with delightful ease. The story raises complex issues such as cultural identity, bullying, friendship and spirituality and does not offer ‘pat’ solutions.
No-one’s life is perfect but with kindness and understanding then it is possible to find your way in life. This is Kristi Wientge’s debut novel and I cannot wait to read more of her work.
ISBN 978 1481477710 Simon&Schuster



Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE

Tuesday, 6 November 2018

The Girl In The Broken Mirror, by Savita Kalhan: reviewed by Sue Purkiss

This is an absolutely rivetting read, though not a comfortable one: indeed, how could it be in any way comfortable when at the heart of it is a brutal rape?

It tells the story of Jay, a fifteen year old girl born in England but from an Indian family. Up until she is eleven, she has a comfortable, happy life: her father,who has wholeheartedly embraced English life, has a successful business, and she goes to a private school. But then her father wraps his car round a tree, and they discover after his death that his business has failed and he has lost everything.

The story demonstrates very clearly how thin is the barrier between relative wealth and poverty. Jay and her mother move to a tiny flat above a grocer's. Jay moves from her private school to a comprehensive and works part time in the shop: her mother has two jobs and studies part-time to train as a teacher, which she hopes will be their way out of their situation. Jay has a plan too: she is studying hard, in the hope of getting a scholarship to a university, and then a good job. And she has two very good friends, Chloe and Matt - who is just becoming more than a friend.

But then the grocer decides to sell his shop, and Jay's mother tells her that they are to move in with Uncle Bal and Auntie Vimala. Uncle Bal is a kindly man, but he is dominated by his horrible wife, who is a more traditional Indian - and uses this as an excuse to demand that Jay and her mother act as pretty much unpaid servants in the house. Thay have two sons, gentle Ash, who is still at home, and Deven, a very unpleasant university student who is the apple of his mother's eye.

At the beginning of the book, Jay is just waking up in the aftermath of the rape. The writing is powerful and visceral, and Savita Kalhan, absolutely makes us understand why Jay feels she is filthy and spoiled, and that all she can think of doing - once she has scrubbed herself with bleach in a vain attempt to make herself feel clean - is to get as far away from the house as she can. The next section tells us what led up to the rape, and then we learn of its aftermath: of how Jay tries to come back from it, with the help of her friends. This process is not made to seem easy or inevitable: it's painful not only for Jay but for those around her, particularly her mother.

The book demonstrates how difficult it can be to be caught between two cultures. It also shows clearly how hard it is to get out of poverty - and it shows how, apart from these more dramatic difficulties, being a teenager isn't the easiest thing either. Savita Kalhan is not afraid to confront things that it would be easier to avoid, and because she writes so well and creates such very real characters, she puts the reader right in the middle of some very distressing experiences. Yet ultimately she offers hope, and shows that generosity and kindness are to be found more often than brutality and arrogance, and will, in the end, triumph.

A brave and engrossing book, which is very much to be admired for its uncompromising determination to write about tough subjects, and bring them out into the open.



Sue Purkiss is the author of Jack Fortune and the Search for the Hidden Valley, an adventure story for 9-12 year olds. www.suepurkisswriter.com 

Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE

Monday, 29 October 2018

Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green - Reviewed by Kelly McCaughrain

This YA novel was on my TBR pile for a while (purely because I loved the title) and I finally got round to reading it because I was due to be on a panel at DeptCon4 with the author, Simon James Green, and I wanted to be able to be informed and polite when I met him.



Informed and polite doesn’t quite describe the fangirling that ensued. I LOVED this book. I read it over the course of 2 days in a hotel in Galway, which I was supposed to be treating as a writing retreat, and then I berated poor SJG on Twitter for disrupting my writing because:
  1. I couldn’t put it down
  2. I couldn’t do any writing of my own because what was the point when there were such brilliant books out there already?
He was very nice about it.

Noah is a completely endearing character, which is quite an achievement considering he spends most of the book pissing people off. He’s a sort of Adrian Mole type – pernickety, high-maintenance, and unintentionally hilarious. He’s unpopular at school (the revelation that his mother has a Beyonce tribute act does not help), his dad is absent (and Noah’s attempts to explain this are both funny and heart-breaking), he’s obsessed with Murder She Wrote and Agatha Christie, and his only friend is Harry. When he gets the chance to work on a project with a popular girl, he figures this could be his chance to integrate with the normals, even get a girlfriend. But things are totally derailed when, instead of Noah kissing Sophie at a party, Harry kisses Noah and chaos ensues. 

I laughed out loud so many times reading this book and I really cared about Noah. I found him completely believable and relatable and I thought his emotional journey through the choppy waters of family and sexuality felt very natural and touching. The humour kept things light and fast-paced, which I think is the key to making the emotional moments pack a real punch and these definitely did.

I got to talk to SJG a bit at DeptCon4 and he’s an absolutely lovely guy. We chatted about getting so attached to your characters that you don’t want to let them go. In fact, he didn’t, he wrote a sequel, Noah Could Never, which is just out.


I’ve just started reading it and I can tell I’m going to love it already. I can completely believe he was attached to Noah because the book is all heart and the characters are the centre of it, which is everything I want in a book.

Go read it, you will be glad you did.



Kelly McCaughrain is the author of the YA novel Flying Tips for Flightless Birds

She blogs about Writing, Gardening and VW Campervanning at weewideworld.blogspot.co.uk 

@KMcCaughrain 





Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE

Thursday, 25 October 2018

The Elephant Thief by Jane Kerr - reviewed by Sharon Tregenza


Based on the true story of an elephant’s journey, this is a delightful book set in Victorian England. Maharajah the elephant walked from Edinburgh to Manchester and became a local celebrity. Kerr has mixed fact with fiction to create a gripping work full of adventure. The fictional rider, Danny, is a young boy who is mute due to a trauma which is gradually revealed. When he accidentally bids for Maharajah at an Edinburgh auction his zookeeper employer comes up with an idea for him to redeem himself.  He’ll transform Danny into a bejewelled Indian prince and set him on a journey with the elephant to garner publicity. Maharajah creates a great stir and even Queen Victoria herself follows his adventures. But there are shady people with a vested interest in making sure that the journey is a failure.
The relationship between the elephant and his young rider forms the heart of the book. There’s plenty of conflict, an interesting parade of villains and heroes and enough mystery and adventure to keep you happily reading along until the very end.
Kerr’s writing style is engaging and her portrayal of the relationship between the boy and the elephant is believable and charming. The strikingly simple cover is a great asset too.




This is Kerr’s debut novel and is published by Chicken House. ‘The Elephant Thief’ is written for YA but is also a great read for adults.

·       Paperback: 416 pages
·       Publisher: Chicken House; 1 edition (2 Mar. 2017)






Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE

Sunday, 21 October 2018

EDGAR AND THE SAUSAGE INSPECTOR, by Jan Fearnley. Reviewed by Saviour Pirotta

Jan Fearnley's latest picture book for Nosy Crow is a hoot. Edgar and his sister Edith live at the end of an alley. Edgar loves Edith very much and one day sets off to buy her favourite treat. Sausages!

Sadly, coming out of the butcher's, Edith is waylaid by a food inspector, a rat, who pronounces the sausages tainted and makes off with them, presumably for further inspection in a lab. The same unhappy meeting keeps repeating itself on further shopping sprees and it soon becomes apparent that the inspector is not all he claims to be. This pushes the otherwise peace loving Edgar over the edge, with fatal consequences for...but no spoilers here.

Fearnley's story is a delicious tale of sweet revenge.  Told in a fast, edgy style with gorgeous retro illustrations that remind me of the ever-popular Madeline books. It's one that I'm sure will prove popular with many readers. The ending would also be great to engender discussions about the nature of revenge and 'getting your own back.' A treat in more ways that one.  Let's hope there are more adventures of Edgar and Edith on the way. They are an adorable pair.


Saviour Pirotta's latest picture book, The Unicorn Prince, is illustrated by Jane Ray and out now. Follow Saviour on twitter @spirotta.






Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE

Wednesday, 17 October 2018

The Dreamer by Il Sung Na, reviewed by Emma Perry


There's an abundance of heart-thumpingly beautiful picture books out there at the moment. Whittling my decision down to just one for October was a little tricky, so, I've cheated a little. I've snuck in a shout out to more wonderfully crafted picture books at the bottom of this page.

However, the picture book I really wanted to focus on is The Dreamer from Il Sung Na.

"Once, there was a pig who admired birds."

Pig, (a glorious shade of mint green by the way) is a pig who dreams big. Very big. This is a pig who dreams of flying. So pig tries VERY hard to fly. He studies hard. When that fails he asks friends to help. Still no luck.

II Sung Na carefully captures Pig's perseverance and determination to make his dreams a reality. There is humour in his failed attempts, but also admiration for his trial and error approach

Eventually, pig sits and listens to those who know best - the birds - and guess what? It works!

But.

This pig is a dreamer remember, and as pig gazes up to the sky this dreamer can't help but wonder if it would be possible to reach the moon... why not? He decides to find out.

Pig's adventures inspire plenty of others, depicted in a humorous spread showing Pig's friends utilising their own flying inventions. And what has Pig learnt by the end of the book - well, he sits and gazes at those birds, and he still admires them. I wonder if he admires them a little more now?

The Dreamer contains the most gorgeous illustrations, I wouldn't be at all surprised to see this one popping up on a few award lists in the coming months - Il Sung Na certainly deserves it.

Now,

As promised, here's a shout-out to more beautifully crafted picture books that have made me stop in my tracks this month...

You're Snug With Me from Chitra Soundar and Poonam Mistry - with a beautiful environmental message.


Red and the City from Marie Voigt



Little Bear's Big House from Benjamin Chaud



Sing to the Moon from Nansubuga Nagadya Isdahl and Sandra van Doorn


Time for Bed, Miyuki from Roxane Marie Galliez and Seng Soug Ratanavanh



Happy picture book reading and gazing!

Emma Perry is a picture book author represented by Bell Lomax Moreton. 
She is the founder of the children's book review site MyBookCorner and organiser of International Book Giving Day. 
Twitter: @_EmmaPerry










Return to REVIEWS HOMEPAGE